27 May 2011, WWE Smackdown results
Parameter name: request
Translate Request has too much data
Parameter name: request
We open this week with the Viper in the ring and he starts by reminding us, “My name…is Randy Orton…and I’m STILL Heavyweight Champion”. This gets a good reaction despite its simplicity. Immediately the moment is quickly interrupted by Christian’s music. The brief ex-champ walks to the ring with plenty of crowd support. He congratulates Orton and says it was one of the greatest matches of his career. He thanks Randy, who rather skeptically accepts the compliment, as Christian tells him he deserves to be champion. Christian also says he knows he can beat Randy and wants one more shot at the title. Randy looks at Christian like, ‘you really want to go through all this again…really?’, but Christian looks determined. Sheamus comes down next looking peeved (but it’s hard to take him serious anymore as a monster heel after all the crap he’s gone through over the past 6 months…the running away from Nexus backstage like a little girl; the losing streak; etc. WWE Creative was very short-sighted in his development). He wants Christian to go to the back of the line and calls him a two-time loser, referring to his two losses to Orton. Mark Henry’s music hits and the big man comes out next. He’s wearing that arrogant smile again, which I think fits him well in a heel capacity. He wants the shot too. Teddy Long comes out next and once again relegates to that lame “crowd reaction” method for granting title shots. Since when does crowd favor determine who should or shouldn’t get a title…this isn’t American Idol or some other lame reality show (well, to some extent it is). Long ends up landing on the idea for a Triple Threat match for tonight’s main event and the winner will face the Heavyweight Champion in the next PPV. We go to commercial…
Sin Cara vs. Chavo Guerrero: The first match is a decent one with Sin Cara facing Chavo Guerrero in a rematch. Chavo looks stronger than ever, and I’m glad he’s back on the scene in some capacity (feuding with Hornswoggle does NOT count). Early on, he’s in carge with a hard body slam, European uppercut, some stomps and a nice tight shoulder-to-back suplex. Cara turns the tables with a reverse springboard elbow smash that backed up a headscissors takedown off the middle of the top rope. He lands some martial arts kicks to further soften Chavo. He’s basically a more powerful Mysterio. The bout features some impressive new moves by Cara, and this time he wins it with what could have been a botched move, but looked like a crucifix into a spinning bulldog for the pinfall. It followed a similar pattern from their first match and Cara comes out on top again…as if there was ever a doubt.
Daniel Bryan vs. Cody Rhodes: This is another good matchup on paper, as offered up by the new draft. The draft has definitely given pure wrestling fans a much better outlook on Smackdown, with matches now possible like this one and the previous bout. The match starts out fast-paced as Bryan lands a beautiful southpaw arm drag and the two collide on a corner turnbuckle charge by D.B. Bryan reverses a single leg takedown attempt by Rhodes and turns it into a possible surfboard attempt, and then a modified camel clutch, but when nothing’s available he just jumps up and slams Rhodes legs into the mat and hits a running head kick. After the break, it’s Rhodes in charge with aggressive kicks and a submission attempt that worked on the neck, shoulder and left arm of Bryan. Daniel works his way back into offensive position and hits a big missile drop kick for a near fall. Rhodes hits a reverse head kick off the middle rope and goes for Cross Rhodes, but Bryan reverses the tables and gets Cody in a compromised position for the Labelle Lock. Cody taps immediately as Bryan just clinches his hands together around Rhodes’ chin. This was a very quick tap—a ‘pussy tap’ in the MMA world. But for WWE it’s brilliant because it further cements Rhodes as a pretty boy heel who didn’t want to risk pain or more damage to his face. After the bell, he of course attacks Daniel Bryan and hits Cross Rhodes and puts a bag on his head. This was a win-win situation—Bryan gets a much needed clean victory over an established heel and Rhodes builds on his character’s impetuous and obsessive behaviors.
Ezekial Jackson vs. Heath Slater: The next match builds on the tension between EZ Jackson and The Corre, and gives us a rare televised one-on-match for Slater. The match goes predictably with Slater getting overmatched in the early going and tossed all around the ring with shoulder blocks, hip tosses, punches and clotheslines. He lands some offense about two minutes in and tries to wear down the big man, but Jackson takes back control soon enough. Slater gets enough offense to avoid the squash, but about four minutes in Jackson is landing his series of body slams before locking in The Torture Rack. Just before Slater submits, down to the ring run Gabriel and Barrett for the DQ run-in. Jackson manages to fight them off and yells out in triumph as he flexes his monster muscles. Stryker has a quick interview with Christian before the commercial.
Kane vs. Great Khali: After the obligatory Raw recap, we see Great Khali and his lame brother announced next. I must admit, for the first time ever I’m intrigued about the Khali storyline, as I want to see him dissed again by Mahal. Kane is announced next so it appears Khali is in the heel role. I want Kane to give Khali a lesson on how a big man can actually work in the ring. The match starts in super slow motion as Khali is in charge most of the first couple minutes. The guy can barely walk or stand, much less move in the ring. Eventually, Kane gets sick of selling Khali’s crap and hits a flying lariat off the top for the pinfall victory. The accouncers play up how Singh is much more animated and vocal in Khali’s corner this week. I usually ignore him so didn’t notice a difference. As Singh helps up his “brother”, we hear actual theme music for Jinder Mahal (sp?) and Khali looks sheepish as the determined Jinder charges the ring area looking sharp and pissed. He barks some more aggressive words at Khali, similar to the past few weeks but I don’t understand it (I’d be curious if someone can interpret it and put in the comments…for all I know it’s just a bunch of gobbledygook). He slaps Khali again but this time Singh comes to Khali’s defense. Mahal shoves Singh and Khali pushes Mahal away. There’s a standoff and it looks like Khali is defending his ‘brother’. Singh is standing in front of Khali and admonishing Mahal, but then Khali raises his arms and puts Singh in the skull buster vice grip, thus sealing his inevitable heel turn. Jinder looks on sinisterly and he seems like he knows how to draw heat. The crowd apparently cares about R Singh because they boo Khali quite heavily. The two leave the ring together as Khali opens the ropes for his new mentor.
AJ and Kaitlyn (with Natalya) vs Alicia Fox and Tamina: This is the Smackdown debut of some NXT divas—AJ and Kaitlyn (although not really Kaitlyn’s debut). I always stop to watch Kaitlyn as bad as this might be. The ‘rookies’ hold their own for the most part, as Kaitlyn hits a nice side slam on Fox, but ultimately she is hit with the fallaway leg drop slam (Booker T’s old move) by Fox for the pinfall loss.
During the Macho Man tribute, I just want to take a moment to comment on Tough Enough. All I want to say is next season I hope they really put some effort into screening and choosing contestants. This season there were so many throwaway people that never stood a chance, and even the final three has two guys that can’t work at all…and the one who may be able to (Luke) is an annoying, preppy little prick that no fans in their right minds would ever embrace. I just want to slap that guy every time he talks and tries to put himself over. If you consider yourself a good judge of character, you’ve probably figured out he’s a straight up prick. That Andy guy can’t work and is a strange brooder who cries in the face of some criticism by Stone Cold. So I guess I’m rooting for that hillbilly guy with no experience or teeth. Thank god for the last 10 minutes of each episode when Austin STEALS the show every time with his elimination diatribes.
Christian vs. Mark Henry vs. Sheaumus: Early on Henry and Christian get Sheamus out of the equation temporarily. Henry uses his strength to slowly pick apart Christian with stomps, by stepping on him, and working him over by the ropes. Christian dumps the big man over the top and Sheamus sneaks in to get a near fall by rolling up Christian out of nowhere. Sheamus misses the pump kick and Christian hits Killswitch, but Henry makes the save for Sheamus. Now we hear Orton’s music ring out as we go to commercial with voices in our heads. Orton is watching on from the rampway. Back from break, Henry is back in control over Christian as he tosses him chest first into the turnbuckles for near fall. He applies a bear hug next and flails Christian around like a rag doll. Sheamus rejoins the action and goes after Henry. Henry sustains some blows and then grabs Sheamus by the waste and tosses him over the top to the outside (impressive). Henry gets a nearfall on Christian as Orton watches intently by ringside now. Henry goes for a big splash but misses. Sheamus is still conspicuously missing from action as Christian hits a drop kick from the middle rope. A second one knocks down Henry and earns a near fall. The Irishman is back now as he alternates by wailing on Christian in the corner and ground and pound on Henry who’s still down from the missed splash. Sheamus tries for superplex but is knocked down by Christian. Christian dives off the ropes and is caught by Henry and Mark hits the World’s Strongest Slam. He goes for the pin but Sheamus breaks it up. Now Sheamus is in control and gets a near fall on Christian as signals for his high cross finisher. Chrsitian avoids it and lands the spinning DDT for a very near fall! Outside the ring, Henry knocks down Orton with a cheap shot and we know this will play a factor soon enough. Christian tosses a charging Henry into Shamus and then he spears Sheamus. Meanwhile, Orton is pissed outside the ring. He tears off his shirt and charges into the action. He nails Henry with an RKO while Christian covers Sheamus. The ref is too distracted with Orton that he’s late for pin attempt and it’s only a near fall by Christian. Christian argues with the ref only to turn around and eat a huge pump kick by Sheamus. Sheamus covers Christian and gets the surprising pinfall victory! I thought Christian would earn the rematch. Josh Mathews announces this match (Sheamus vs. Orton) will actually be next week on Smackdown, not at the next PPV so I stand corrected from earlier. Orton is in the ring with Christian and he holds up the title to Sheamus. Sheamus raises his arms on the ramp as we fade to black…

0 comentarios:
Publicar un comentario