My two (week 46) Centsss

5:07 Publicado por Mario Galarza

Translate Request has too much data
Parameter name: request
Translate Request has too much data
Parameter name: request

1. Day 313 - What Goes Around, Comes Around

2. Day 314 - OHHHH NOOO!

3. Day 315 - WWE RAW - I Mean Pay-Per-View - Predictions

4. Day 316 - Dropping The Ball

5. Day 317 - It's Time To Unleash The Glamazon

If you've been a regular viewer of the company once known as "TNA" for the past few years, then you were probably jumping for the joy when it was revealed that Awesome Kong had asked for her release and later signed with the WWE. I've watched many of Kong's matches - both as a heel and a face - and everytime, I was impressed by what I saw. Regardless if her opponent was Gail Kim, ODB, or Angelina Love, the big woman seemed to have no difficulty putting on one of the best matches of the night (it's a shame that most big men cannot do the same).

Anyways, as impressed as I was by what I saw from her in TNA - I mean "iMPACT! Wrestling" - I was never her biggest supporter. Not because she's unattractive; it was simply because she had no competition, and towards the end of her days with the company, was booked horribly. So when it was announced that Kong had parted ways with Dixie Carter & Company, I wasn't too bothered by the move, because I knew she would end up in a much better place. To the surprise of many - but not me - it was eventually reported that WWE and Awesome Kong had reached a deal. Hooray!

Ever since the news broke, thousands of fans anxiously awaited for Kong to make her WWE debut. Nobody knew what would happen. Would she debut as a face and immediately go after Lay-Cool? Would she show up as a superstar or diva's bodyguard? Would she be rushed into a feud with Natalya or Beth Phoenix? Or would she simply go around squashing the divas division?

For better or for worse, WWE has decided to go with the latter and simply book Kong, now named "Kharma", as a walking wrecking ball. Since her debut at Extreme Rules, Kharma has nailed her signature Implant Buster (great name, by the way) on the likes of Michelle McCool, Maryse, Eve, and most recently, Brie Bella. What do all these divas have in common? Nothing, other than the fact that they're smoking hot. Oh, and they're also former or current divas champions.

Let that sink in for a moment. This newcomer, Kharma, has basically squashed four of WWE's top divas in less than a month. Sure, she is yet to wrestle a televised match, but in my opinion, she is being booked perfectly. She has amazing entrance music, gladiator-like ring gear, and towers over the other divas. The best part is, she's not even cutting promos. She's simply going to RAW and Smackdown! and hitting an Implant Buster on a different diva every night. It's complete destruction.

That's why I hope Kharma's first official match is against Brie Bella and she defeats her for the Divas Championship. Why? Because Kharma has already established herself as a top diva without even pinning anyone. The reaction of each of her victims lets the fans know that the divas are terrified of her. They don't want to have anything to do with her.

That's also why Beth Phoenix and Natalya have been off television in recent months. Because other than those two (and possibly Gail Kim, but I'm not holding my breath), no other diva on the roster poses a challenge to Kharma. They have invested so much time in Kharma's character in the past few weeks, and I'm sure they will continue to do so in the coming months, that having someone like Kelly Kelly or Eve Torres cleanly pin her would ruin all the momentum she's built up. I'm hopingthat WWE is using the likes of Maryse and Alicia Fox as scapegoats so Phoenix and Natayla can swoop in and "save" the division, a.k.a. feud with Kharma.

WWE have been making a lot of mistakes lately, but they seem to be booking Kharma correctly. In fact, if I was in charge, I would have Kharma keep destroying divas until she is finally given a divas championship match at next month's Pay-Per-View, which is then followed by a feud with Beth Phoenix over the summer, then a mini-feud with Eve in the fall (because someone backstage loves that bitch way too much), then Natalya in the winter, with phoenix getting involved which would take us into Wrestlemania 28. In other words, here's what I think Kharma's PPV schedule will look like:

WWE SummerSlam: Kharma vs. Beth Phoenix
WWE Survivor Series: Kharma vs. Eve
WWE Royal Rumble: Kharma vs. Natalya
Wrestlemania XXVIII: Kharma vs. Natalya vs. Beth Phoenix

Not bad, right? All these women (excluding Eve) could bring relevance back to the divas division, and give us some dream matches in the process.

Kharma has arrived...finally.

I'll be the first one to admit that I was never well-aquainted with the late, great, "Macho Man" Randy Savage. Apart from his amazing Wrestlemania 3 match against Ricky Steamboat, I have never seen an entire Randy Savage match. Besides the occasional video package or highlight, I have never seen an entire "Macho Man" promo. His signature catchphrase, "OHHHH YEAHHH!" as well as his infamous marriage with Miss Elizabeth were pretty much the only things I knew him by.

Despite my rather unfamilarity with the man, I can't help but feel sad about his untimely passing this morning. Like I said, I knew more of Randy Savage than I knew about him, but I did know enough to consider him a WWE Legend. In fact, during the 80s and 90s, he was arguably the biggest star in professional wrestling (after Hulk Hogan of course). I knew about his world title reigns in WWE and WCW. I even knew that Savage had spent several years as a household name across the world. Therefore, the news of his death must be considered a big deal. Obviously, it's tragic whenever a wrestler or any human being dies before his or her time, but Savage was one of the greatest superstars to never be inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame. It's something like this that sends shockwaves across the world, to both wrestling and non-wrestling fans alike.

The reason I'm writing this column is not to celebrate the career of Randy Savage, because that would not be fair to anyone. I barely knew the man's story, both inside and outside the squared circle. However, I want those who read today's entry to know that if there's anything they want to get off their chest about "Macho Man", and have nobody to share it with, feel free to hit me up. I'm actually a very good listener, so if you want to rant about how unfair it is that he's dead, send me an email. If you want to share your favorite memory with someone, message me on Facebook or Twitter.

I'm sure a lot of you are probably still in shock over the news, but if there's one thing I can promise you it's that things will get better. The world will go on, even if it's a bit less macho. I'm aware that some people will find the news hard to accept, but with time, they will.

Rest In Peace, Macho Man. Show them how it's done up in heaven, bro.

I start work in less than two hours, so I apologize if these Over The Limit predictions are a bit shorter than usual. Nevertheless, let's get started!

WWE Divas Championship: Brie Bella (c.) vs. Kelly Kelly

Might as well kick things off with the least-anticipated match on the entire card (yes, even Cole vs. Lawler is more appealing than this). Honestly, I can only imagine one of two scenarios taking place here, neither of which are good for Miss Bella. The first is that Kelly Kelly overcomes twin magic and wins her first championship in the WWE, only to be attacked by Kharma after her victory. The other scenario is that less than three minutes into the match, Kharma’s music hits and she marches down to the ring, when the RAW General Manager chimes in to announce the match has become a triple threat. Kharma then squashes both Brie and Kelly to become the new divas champion. While I think the former has a better chance of occurring, I think it’s safe to say the odds don’t look good for The Bellas tonight.

Winner, and NEW Divas Champion: Kelly Kelly

Sin Cara vs. Chavo Guerrero

Whether these guys are given eight minutes or eighteen minutes to work with, this will probably be one of the night’s better matches. The only thing holding it back is the winner is a no-brainer. I would love for Chavo to get a Pay-Per-View victory, or a victory for that matter, but there’s no doubt Sin Cara is going over tonight. Chavo has been a jobber for years, and his first major win won’t come from defeating WWE’s new favourite Mexican, Sin Cara. Let’s just hope they keep the botches to a minimum.

Winner: Sin Cara

WWE Intercontinental Championship: Wade Barrett (c.) vs. Ezekiel Jackson

Apart from the top matches on the card, this bout probably has the most build to it. Considering how Barrett has done nothing with the IC championship since defeating Kofi Kingston last March, and Zeke is on a “hot streak”, you’d think a title switch is bound to happen tonight. However, if you look at things a bit further, it makes little sense for Zeke to walk away with the gold. Barrett needs to regain some lost momentum, and Zeke isn’t quite ready to carry a major singles title at this point. This will not be a work of art, but I doubt this match goes longer than five or six minutes anyway. Thanks to interference from Gabriel, Slater, and maybe someone else, Barrett steals a victory here.

Winner, and STILL Intercontinental Champion: Wade Barrett

Rey Mysterio vs. R-Truth

It amazes me how many people have jumped on the R-Truth bandwagon ever since his little heel turn. Folks, he’s not that much better than he was a few months ago. All he does is yell in a microphone instead of rap, and wears black in-ring gear instead of white. That’s pretty much it. He still sucks on the mic, and is still mediocre in the ring. I’m pretty confident this feud will continue into the next PPV, so I expect Mysterio to get the win with a roll-up or hurricarana, only for Truth to get his heat back by beating up Mysterio post-match.

Winner: Rey Mysterio

WWE Tag Team Championship: Kane & The Big Show (c.) vs. CM Punk & Mason Ryan

Considering all the tension shown between Mason Ryan and the other Nexus members over the past few weeks, you’d think the chances of Punk and Ryan winning the titles tonight are pretty slim. However, The Big Show and Kane have had a pretty decent title reign and let’s face it, two averaged-sized wrestlers aren’t going to take the belts off them. Therefore, I say play up Ryan’s strength and Punk’s smarts to steal a win tonight. That way, the Nexus continues to build back their dominance, and they can add some gold to the group. Everyone wins, right?

Winners, and NEW WWE Tag Team Champions: CM Punk & Mason Ryan

Jerry “The King” Lawler vs. Michael Cole in a “Kiss My Foot” Match

I would like to take this time to thank Michael Cole, Jerry Lawler, Vince McMahon, and the WWE Creative Team. Thanks to the above parties, tonight’s PPV will NOT feature the likes of Alberto Del Rio, Cody Rhodes, Kofi Kingston, Drew McIntyre, Sheamus, and other deserving WWE superstars. Instead, the fans must endure another chapter in the Lawler/Cole saga. How great is that?

Winner: I don’t give a fuck - JUST END IT ALREADY!!!

World Heavyweight Championship: Randy Orton (c.) vs. Christian

Even though he’s no longer the champion, it is nice to see Christian receive two consecutive world title PPV matches. Unfortunately, I don’t see Captain Charisma having the same fortune as he did against Del Rio at Extreme Rules. Chances are this will be the match of the night, and some teased heel turns from both men will only add to the drama. I have no doubt Christian will one day regain the world heavyweight title, but alas, it won’t be tonight.

Winner, and STILL World Heavyweight Champion: Randy Orton

WWE Championship: John Cena (c.) vs. The Miz in an “I Quit“ Match

It’s a shame. If WWE had developed a half-decent undercard for tonight’s PPV, I would have ordered the show just to see this match. The Miz really sold me last Monday on RAW when he promised to make Cena say “I Quit” in a way that’s never been done before. As convincing as that sounds, it would be historic enough for Cena to actually say the words, considering the champ has never lost an “I Quit” match before. That being said, I would not be surprised for Miz to find a way to cheat, maybe even stealing an idea from The Rock’s “I Quit” match against Mankind in the late nineties, only for the RAW GM to restart the match, once again screwing The Miz out of a tainted victory. Or maybe Miz will do something crazy and legitimately win the match, who knows? I’m playing it safe.

Winner, and STILL WWE Champion: John Cena

A few months back, I posted a column under the very same name, "Dropping The Ball". Basically, I gave my two cents (no plug intended) on current wrestlers, divas, and storylines that despite a strong start, for one reason or another, had their momentum come to a screeching halt. Since the first column garnered so much positive feedback, I figured I would write a follow-up. In other words, this is my way of telling WWE how they fucked up, who they fucked up, and what they can do to set things right.

Case #1: The Miz

I'm not going to spend too much time discussing The Miz's sudden fall grace (Hustle did a much better job in his column yesterday), but I have to comment on the former WWE Champion. I was not happy about the match outcome at Over The Limit, nor was I pleased about SuperCena making another appearance, but it wasn't until Alex Riley of all people made Miz look like his bitch last night on RAW that it dawned to me. Miz is being de-pushed in a horrible way. In two nights, WWE took all the credibility he built up over the past two years and threw it out the window. The Miz did not look like a former world champion last night; he looked like the weak link of a tag team with Alex Riley. I don't know what WWE has planned next for The Miz, but unless something changes next week on RAW, Miz will probably be wrestling Evan Bourne at Capitol Punishment - or maybe not even have a match on the Pay-Per-View!

Case #2 - Kharma

I think I speak for not only the majority of the Internet Wrestling Community but many wrestling fans as well when I ask, "What the hell was that"?. If you don't know what I'm talking about, then go watch RAW and fast-forward to the eight-diva tag team match, when Kharma makes her way to the ring. Instead of beating up on the women, Kharma...breaks down and cries. No, I am not making that up. The same woman who has been obliterating every diva in her path over the last few weeks came out to the ring and bawled her eyes out. As soon as she did that, I knew her career was over before she even wrestled her first match. Forget the dream feuds with Beth Phoenix and Natalya. Kharma will either get a "makeover" or be a valet in less than a month, wait and see.

Case #3 - The WWE Tag Team Championship

When you think about the history of the WWE tag team championship, a lot of great teams come to mind. The Dudley Boyz, The Hart Foundation, John Morrison & The Miz - each one of these teams brought credibility and entertainment to the tag team division. However, there were also plenty of "undeserving" teams who captured the tag titles as well, such as The Spirit Squad Roddy Piper & Ric Flair (when they were way past their prime). Well, yesterday on RAW, the belts went from the respectable waists of Kane and The Big Show into the hands of David Otunga and Michael McGillicutty. Yeah, that's right. WWE don't want CM Punk and Mason Ryan to be tag team champions, but they're content with putting the titles on a singer's husband and a dead guy's untalented son. I shudder to think of who the new champs will feud with in the coming months - Koztino? The Usos? The Corre? Ughhhh.

Case #4: Zack Ryder

Making his second appearance on "Dropping The Ball" is the latest internet sensation, Long Island Iced Z. Despite his YouTube show getting more and more hits every week, WWE is yet to capitalize by pushing Ryder on RAW. In fact, the only times we've seen Ryder on RAW in the past month was during two backstage segments with John Cena. Every time he wrestles, it's on Superstars, which isn't exactly on the same level of viewership as Monday Night RAW. WWE really need to get their head out of their ass, turn Ryder face, and push him on RAW already. The fans want it, the other superstars want it, and the man can deliver. Just give him a chance, WWE.

Case #5: NXT

Remember how bad Season Three of NXT - the diva-exclusive one - was? Well, compared to this season, it's hard to call that one the worst season ever. Honestly, how is it possible the show is going into it's FOURTEENTH week, and only one superstar has been '"sent home"? I mean, I'd understand if there were eight competitors, or if it was six new superstars competing, but that's not the case. We're down to five of the worst superstars from NXT history, paired with five of the biggest jobbers from the main roster (one of them who isn't even a wrestler!). If nobody cared about Conar O'Brien during Season Five, why would they care about him now? What's worse is that whoever does win season five will be returning for another season. Ever heard of "the song that never ends"? Well, they might as well rename NXT to "the show that never ends and nobody watches".

Sometimes I wonder what the creative team is thinking when they come up with these ideas. Other times it's so much easier to just say #FuckYouWWE.

Apart from the untimely passing of “Macho Man” Randy Savage, one of the most heated topics since Monday Night RAW was Kharma and her WWE future. The former TNA Knockout shocked the world when she suffered what the announcers described as a “nervous breakdown” in the middle of the ring. Fans were outraged (myself included) and immediately blasted WWE for ruining Kharma’s character before she even wrestled a single match. However, it was later revealed that she would be out of action for at least nine months, and it is highly speculated that she is pregnant. This suddenly leaves WWE in a state of panic, as it was clear officials were relying on Kharma to revive the dying divas division.

But alas, hope is not yet lost. WWE have a secret weapon that they might have forgotten still exists. Of course I’m talking about none other than The Glamazon, Beth Phoenix. Ever since an unexpected injury at the hands of Team Lay-Cool last year put her on the shelf for over six months, Phoenix has sparingly been used since her return to television. Besides a mini-revenge angle where she aligned herself with Natalya to get retribution on Layla and Michelle McCool, Phoenix has been pretty much confined to “Superstars” and taken out of the spotlight.

Well now that Kharma is out of the picture for a long, long time, it’s time for WWE to stop pushing women like Kelly Kelly and The Bella Twins and re-establish Phoenix’s dominance. Granted she is back on RAW, it won’t be too hard to put the attention back on her. Have Phoenix win a number one contender’s match or battle royal and face Brie Bella for the Divas Championship at Capitol Punishment and have her win. Almost immediately afterwards, it would be in WWE’s best interest to turn The Glamazon heel, simply because her heel run was more effective and “monster divas” are easier to hate (case in point: Kharma, Chyna, and to a certain extent, Jazz).

With Phoenix the reigning divas champion, it would actually make sense to have Kelly Kelly and Eve Torres the top faces of the womens division. Why? Think back to Phoenix’s first major feud upon her WWE arrival. It was against none other than Candice Michelle. Candice was never the most athletic women on the roster, yet she and Phoenix had a great series of matches in 2007-2008. Therefore, it would not surprise me if Kelly and Eve could actually make me care about them if placed in a decent rivalry with The Glamazon. I’m not saying Phoenix and Eve could put on five-star classics every week, but I would be much more interested in ordering a Pay-Per-View with Phoenix vs. Eve on the card then say Brie Bella vs. Kelly Kelly.

Of course, The Glamazon’s reign of dominance could eventually lead to the best women’s match possible at Wrestlemania 28 if Kharma is not able to compete by then. That match would be a dream match for many fans, one they wouldn’t mind if the two divas fought for over ten minutes. I’m talking about Beth Phoenix vs. Natalya at Wrestlemania 28. Naturally, should that match be considered a possibility, WWE has their work cut out to make both women legitimate threats before the big PPV. Phoenix should have no problem building up momentum, but Natalya has very little going for her on Smackdown!. That, and she may not be over enough as a face to challenge a heel Beth Phoenix at the biggest PPV of the year.

Unfortunately, nothing that I wrote is guaranteed to take place in the coming months. Maybe WWE will decide that the womens division is just not worth saving, and have the title rotate from The Bellas to Kelly Kelly to Eve and back. Maybe they’ll even go as far as to fire the “less attractive” ones, leaving only five or six on the main roster. There’s no way to force WWE to utilize The Glamazon’s untapped potential. We’re just going to have wait and see how they respond to Kharma’s unexpected “pregnancy”.

One thing is for sure, though. Kharma really fucked everyone over. The Creative Team, the other divas, the fans. No one wins from this situation, really.

Ain’t that a bitch.

*****

Song Of The Day: Raghav - Fire

(Not bad for a Canadian who used to sign in Indian. Hot beat!)

If you were checking back every day since Tuesday expecting a new column from yours truly, I apologize. My boss (illegally) scheduled me seven days of work in a row, so the past week ahs consisted primarily of working, sleeping, eating, and sometimes bathing. No joke. Stupid McDonald's.

Beyond The Walls is down to round two, and only sixteen superstars remain. Cena and Orton have already been eliminated. Who will be crowned the best current WWE superstar? The power is totally in your hands! Click on the following link to cast your votes, or contact me directly:

++++++++++Beyond The Walls++++++++++

Agree with today's topic? Disagree? Then let me know!

- Send me an e-mail at captain_charisma16@hotmail.com
- Befriend me or message me on Facebook (www.Facebook.com/Super.Chrisss)
- Follow me on Twitter at twitter.com/chrisss16
- Take the lazy way out and leave a comment below.

Until next time, take care, and spike that hair.

#WWWYKI!

Source: lordsofpain.net

  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes

0 comentarios:

Publicar un comentario