The heel report - week 9 (2011-2012 season)

21:56 Publicado por Mario Galarza

Translate Request has too much data
Parameter name: request
Translate Request has too much data
Parameter name: request

Well another week has gone by and things seem to have taken a turn for the worse in the world of professional wrestling. At least in the way that the real bad guys; Hogan and Bischoff are winning in their company, and in the WWE the heels are being dominated by the faces apart from in the minor leagues where the heels are getting wins, but wins that are basically meaningless. But enough of this doom and gloom, lets get on with the report…

Weekly Top Ten:

1st Place: R-Truth (10/10)

What’s up?! R-Truth, once again. Despite technical difficulties almost robbing him of his spotlight, Truth was able to cut a massive promo at the start of Raw and go on to beat Super Cena by count out, finally legitimately putting him in the title picture. You know his opening promo was a big deal since the WWE decided to play it several times through each show this week, although perhaps some of the overkill on putting him over was due to the failed first attempt due to a lack of sound. Then again by the very fact that the WWE were going to those efforts you can see they are pretty high on R-Truth right now. High enough so that they would let him win the title from Cena at Capital Punishment? I highly doubt it, but still at least he is being given a shot, which is more than some Superstars ever get in their time in the WWE.

2nd Place: Cody Rhodes (9/10)

The Beautiful Disaster gets into second place this week, cutting a nice promo by excusing his loss last week. While Rhodes didn’t have a match he also didn’t get any type of comeuppance and managed to leave Bryan all but laying once again. Rhodes definitely has a bright future, just so long as he feuds with faces the level of Bryan, where they will actually have to take a loss rather than having the power to insist upon bury their opponent in order to feed their ego.

3rd Place: Wade Barrett (8/10)

The Intercontinental Champion retained his title on Smackdown after once again squaring off against former Corre member; Ezekiel Jackson. It’s a shame that Barrett can’t be seen to win on his own though due to his allegiance with heel groups as he certainly has enough skill to do so. I think everyone is under the general impression that Barrett is being held back by not being allowed to break out on his own. So it is a good thing that he was seen to partly betray his Corre brothers after the match by abandoning them to Jackson when he could have rushed the big man along side them.

4th Place: Dolph Ziggler (7/10)

The Platinum Playboy gets a big win over the US champion on Raw, although despite his success it still looks like Ziggler is floundering as while a short while ago he was having matches for a world championship, now he is back to vying for the midcard titles. Not only that but he is doing so with the exact same guy he did last time; Kofi Kingston. The only difference is that Ziggler and Kingston now fight for the US, rather than the IC title, which both are basically equal in their pointlessness.

5th Place: Jinder Mahal (6/10)

The debut match of Smackdown’s newest international superstar. I’m not too sure what the future holds for Mahal as with Sin Cara and Del Rio on the scene he might be slightly overshadowed in the creative department. So far his angle with the Great Khali has gone well and could become something big if they book him right and then a few months down the line add someone else to the dynamic to make a new stable, once the Corre has perished of course. I’m just hoping it’s not Mark Henry as that would be an obvious move on the WWE’s part, but judging by their moves lately this may be the case.

6th Place: David Otunga (5/10)

Otunga is one half of the new tag team champions, and at least for now he has not been forced to job out. Getting a main event win on superstars over Santino and Koslov is no mean feat what with creative giving them so many fluke victories in recent months. While I have no real interest in Otunga, I do think McGillicutty has a bright future in the WWE and so I’m happy that the team remain victorious, at least for now.

7th Place: Tyson Kidd (4/10)

Another match and another manager for the last graduate of the Hart Dungeon. Now I’m just confused as to why they didn’t keep Kidd with Armando Estrada as it seemed to be a good enough partnership, although to be fair Kidd and Michael Hayes was also a good enough pairing. Still it was nice to see Striker in a capacity other than an interviewer, which is seemingly all he has done as of late.

8th Place: Michael McGillicutty (3/10)

The other half of the tag team champions can claim some credit for the win on Superstars and so he appears here in eighth place, only slightly behind his New Nexus brethren David Otunga. It’s a shame that Husky Harris is no longer with the New Nexus as I really think he and McGillicutty ould have done well as a tag team, like a newer version of Priceless when they first came onto the scene, ah well.

9th Place: C.M. Punk (2/10)

When the leader of the New Nexus comes in behind his followers you know it’s a bad thing. Punk managed to win in his match with the pint-sized burying machine, but didn’t have the strongest heel showing and therefore only gets points for the victory. What Punk needs is more airtime, unfortunately the only way that is going to happen is by him feuding with the company’s top faces, who will bury him every time. Maybe he is better off taking a little break to recharge his batteries and wait until perhaps there is a more even distribution of heels to faces and the sway of power isn’t so firmly in the grasp of the company’s face superstars…but that might take awhile, if only Impact wasn’t still being run by idiots…R.O.H.?

10th Place: Sheamus (1/10)

The Celtic warrior got screwed this week in his match with Randy Orton, as he clearly had the title won and lost through no real fault of his own. I’m not sure what the company are saying by this, obviously Sheamus was a token challenger, but he also basically got a clean pin over the champion, that has to say something for his stock in the company. Hopefully things are on the rise for the two time WWE champion.

2011-2012 Season Top Ten: Overall Top Ten:

1st Place: R-Truth (61/90) – 1st Place: The Miz (600/1090)

2nd Place: The Miz (56/90) – 2nd Place: C.M. Punk (597/1090)

3rd Place: Cody Rhodes (46/90) – 3rd Place: Chris Jericho (564/1090)

4th Place: Michael Cole (43/90) – 4th Place: Jack Swagger (338/1090)

5th Place: Alberto Del Rio (40/90) – 5th Place: Dolph Ziggler (297/1090)

6th Place: Jack Swagger (30/90) – 6th Place: Cody Rhodes (284/1090)

7th Place: Wade Barrett (26/90) – 7th Place: Sheamus (262/1090)

8th Place: C.M. Punk (19/90) – 8th Place: Randy Orton (224/1090)

9th Place: Ted DiBiase (17/90) – 9th Place: Alberto Del Rio (235/1090)

10th Place: Sheamus (17/90) – 10th Place: Wade Barrett (229/1090)

Weekly Filler:

The Face-Off: Capital Punishment Promo

I’ve let this slide for a couple of weeks but come on, this is the most pathetic and desperate plea for attention that the WWE have ever stooped to. Carping on about how they have invited the whole of congress, no one is coming. It just serves to make the billion dollar company look small fry because they are expecting politicians to appear when it has no real benefit to them, not going to happen. What’s worse is that bloody promo video, framed every time by that stupid intro and crappy dream effect, the whole thing is just cheap and nasty and reeks of someone patting themselves on their back for a job done shitty. To be fair its done its job well, now I’m really looking forward to the PPV, just because once it’s over I won’t have to watch that stupid promo or hear about that rubbish poster again!

Face the Facts: Gun Money

I have little good to say this week on the face front, so I’ll just go with the interesting pairing of Alex Shelley and James Storm, each one half of arguably the best tag teams in Impact Wrestling to date. I’m intrigued to see how the pair function together while their partners are injured, his might also provide Roode with a window to pursue his singles push at some point in the near future.

On the Rise: Matt Striker – Super Agent

Quite simply I think that annoying manager is the role that Striker was born to play. While he made for a decent wrestler, his gimmick of being educated could only get him so far, especially these days where in the PG era it’s not cool to have a teacher as the enemy, even though it makes complete sense. And as a commentator, while he was a breath of fresh air from the stale commentary that was the King and Cole, he did tend to go off on tangents and try to be too balanced in his appraisals of situations, actually detracting from the pantomime feel that wrestling commentator banter should usually have. However I can easily see Striker as being a very successful manager, just so long as he doesn’t over think it too much, this whole “Super Agent” thing is a bit far and perhaps seems a bit too cheesy, still it could work.

Flat-Footed: Mick Foley Fired

Well that angle didn’t last long did it! To be fair, on Impact’s part, it was Foley who asked for his release and therefore it is not really all their fault, still it does make the whole situation look a bit rubbish. Also if the rumours are true then part of the reason that Foley wanted his release was that Impact management wasn’t listening to any of his ideas. That can be frustrating at the best of times and the fact is that if Foley was only there as a token presence then his influence wouldn’t have made any difference to the way that Hogan and Bischoff are running things anyway. It’s sashimi because it looked like the company might be turning around then for a bit.

That’s all for this week, both companies don’t seem to be doing too well right now, but we can only hope things will improve. One thing I have noticed, mainly by the structure of the chart this week, is that the heel picture in the WWE is actually in quite good shape in terms of letting new and different guys get a shot at the main event, or at least get their foot in the door to give them an opportunity. Whereas the faces in the WWE are just the same old guys, who hold everybody back and just keep all the limelight for themselves. I think this is the biggest problem in the WWE right now, they are too afraid to turn their big faces into heels. Sure Truth and possibly Christian have gone over to the dark side, but we know that they aren’t the company’s main PR driving point. Hopefully things will change in the future, I mean look at the Miz, he was a heel but he was doing great at representing the company as champion. I think he does an even better job than Cena as Cena seems to only really appeal to the American market with his patriotic marine skit, not great image for an international company. Anyway for now this is James Wright signing off.


Source: wrestlingtruth.com

  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes

0 comentarios:

Publicar un comentario