2011, WWE ext PPV results
The formatter threw an exception while trying to deserialize the message: Error in deserializing body of request message for operation 'Translate'. The maximum string content length quota (30720) has been exceeded while reading XML data. This quota may be increased by changing the MaxStringContentLength property on the XmlDictionaryReaderQuotas object used when creating the XML reader. Line 1, position 31933.
The biggest event of the WWE’s summer calendar kicks off at the Staples Center in L.A., with a rendition of the National Anthem by Adam Jones of ‘legendary rock band’ Tool. Lovely cheesy video footage detailing various US locations and things like eagles, American soldiers, the Statue of Liberty etc. accompanies this rendition, which I’m sure went out of tune about five times. Still, good effort Adam. I can’t play that tune, so well done. Nice fireworks as well! Commentary tonight is by the trio of Michael Cole, Jerry Lawler and Booker T.
SIX-MAN TAG TEAM MATCH: THE MIZ, R-TRUTH & ALBERTO DEL RIO VS. KOFI KINGSTON, REY MYSTERIO & JOHN MORRISON
The Miz is first into the ring, and seems intent on giving us an earful before the match. He’s all pumped about returning to the WWE, and thanks the crowd for their insistence he performs tonight. R-Truth hits the ring and introduces him, and tells the crowd to stop shouting ‘WHAT!’ at him. He’s still flogging that ‘conspiracy’ dead horse, and is thankfully interrupted himself by their team-mate and ‘Mr. Money in the Bank’ Alberto Del Rio. My, that briefcase does suit him. It’s odd he’s the only one so far not to have something to say…Rey Mysterio has decided to wrestle tonight minus any crap gimmicks, and has a fairly demure white and blue outfit on, which makes a change. We get a slight recap of The Miz kicking Mysterio’s ass last week, and I can only hope he does the same again tonight. It’s especially galling that Mysterio has a WWE Championship title match on Raw tomorrow night, but let’s see if he gets another battering tonight. Kingston and Miz start things off, and Kofi takes the early advantage with a nice monkey flip. He tags in Morrison, and they land a nice double flapjack move. Near fall for Morrison, and Miz tags in R-Truth, who instantly gets taken down and dominated by Morrison, including a nice kick off the middle rope. R-Truth begins hammering away and manages to shove Morrison off the top turnbuckle. Lawler makes a good joke about Stevie Wonder cutting Michael Cole’s hair, presumably before Vince McMahon told them via their earpieces to get the hell on with the commentary. Miz is now in with Morrison and gets a near-fall. Morrison gets out of Miz grabbing his hair by giving him a nasty kick in the face, and tags in Kingston, who explodes on Miz with athletic moves, finishing with a springboard cross-body block. He builds more momentum and lands a Boom Drop and lines up for his finisher. He misses, and Miz tries for a Skull Crushing Finale. Del Rio breaks up a pin attempt, and catches Mysterio with a lovely Enziguri kick. Miz gets a very near fall on Kingston with some weird front-falling DDT. R-Truth is now battering Kingston for his troubles, and drops him with an inverted suplex. Yet another two-count, and Truth is not happy. Del Rio is tagged in, and another two-count ensues. He mocks Kingston’s Boom Drop signal, and Miz tags in to stop Kofi making the tag. You can tell things are gearing up for Mysterio to come in and annihilate everyone, but in the meantime, Miz gets some near-falls on Kofi. The crowd are slowly getting into this match, and Kofi manages a pinning predicament on Miz with a sunset flip. Mysterio predictably gets the tag, and nails Truth with some high-impact moves. Both men do some nice reversals, but it’s Mysterio who gets a two-count. Even more predictably, Mysterio lines Truth and Miz up for the 619, but Del Rio stops him. Morrison dives out onto Del Rio, and Mysterio hits Truth with a top rope frog-splash for the win. I don’t think this result was ever in doubt, and while Morrison didn’t really do a whole lot, it was an OK event-opener.
WINNERS BY PINFALL: REY MYSTERIO, KOFI KINGSTON AND JOHN MORRISON
We go backstage with CM Punk and John Laryngitis, who is giving him a good talking to. John demands a public apology from Punk, who seems rather non-plussed, and offers a rather sarcastic, grovelling apology. It’s really quite amusing as he makes lots of grimacing faces at him, then turns to get Stephanie McMahon in his face. She wishes him luck, which Punk is rather surprised about. He tells her to go wish her daddy luck, and she says she did, and that they both wish him and Cena luck. Punk agrees that Stephanie is pretty much Vince’s talentless daughter. He refuses to shake her hand by saying ‘I know where that hand’s been’! Classic! You can always rely on Punk for an amazing comeback like that, and I hope the creative guys continue allowing him to write the bulk of his own stuff.
Recap time on Henry vs. Sheamus, and the fact Henry has been a bit hormonal lately and has been kicking the s*** out of all and sundry, then doing that thing where he injures their legs by belly-flopping onto them with a steel chair. After taking out Kane and Big Show, he’s gone on a rant about not having any competition. Sheamus has come out of the woodwork to challenge Henry, which has led to this match.
MARK HENRY VS. SHEAMUS
Remember when Henry had that cool ‘sexual chocolate’ music? It doesn’t really fit with the demented psycho heel angle he’s currently pulling, but perhaps he could return to that in the future. Similarly, how amazing would it be if Sheamus had Finlay’s old music? That flute-led vibe would suit him admirably, I reckon. This ought to be a fun match, although as big as he is, even Sheamus is losing out on the weight-side. Both men are straight into it, with Henry shoulder-blocking Sheamus, but facing an early fight back. Cole makes the valid point that Henry has not been beating up guys smaller than him, and to take out Big Show and Kane is rather impressive. It’s odd that in this context, Sheamus is now a face, taking it to the bully that is Henry. Saying that, he’s not taken him off his feet yet. Henry tosses Sheamus over the top rope with ease, and takes the fight to the outside. Henry chastises Cole for trying to get out his way, and body-presses Sheamus back into the ring, before flattening him with a vicious body charge and a big splash. He gets a two-count, before allowing Sheamus to crawl to his feet, but he’s having some trouble. Henry runs at Sheamus and lands all his body weight on Sheamus’ throat against the ropes, and tries a pin, but Sheamus’ leg was under the rope. Despite a fight-back, Sheamus is crushed again by a back-breaker and left to flounder on the floor. Henry then hoists Sheamus up in a sort of horizontal bear-hug, which Sheamus battles out of and is thrown into the turnbuckle for his troubles. Henry climbs up to do his belly-splash off the second rope, but Sheamus rolls out the ring to avoid it and Henry crashes into the mat. Both men are now struggling to their feet, and Sheamus still can’t get Henry on his back, but finally manages it with a double axe-handle off the ropes. He pummels hbim with knee-drops, before battering his chest repeatedly, like he’s clubbing a seal to death with his bare hands. Sheamus gets up to the top rope, and lands a big shoulder block off, but only for a two-count. Once again, Sheamus is on his back, as Henry goads him. Out of nowhere, Sheamus lands a Brogue Kick, sending Henry to the outside. Now Sheamus has to drag 400-odd pounds to the ring, but Henry reverses and sends them both crashing through the security wall, which practically explodes, leaving Sheamus immobile in the front row of the crowd. Henry is back in the ring, and the referee counts Sheamus out for the victory.
WINNER BY COUNT-OUT: MARK HENRY
Henry then stalks the ringside area, glaring at people, and I for one certainly wouldn’t want to get in his way. Be careful if you ever spill this man’s drink. Sheamus looks like he’s about to cry, which doesn’t happen often. Backstage, we have Christian being interviewed by work experience lad Josh Matthews. That’s a nice dressing room he has, and generally tells everyone that there’s no way Orton is leaving tonight with the title, and that Christian is ‘a bit like Harry Potter’. Hmm. He also says that Orton is a total flop, like ‘Cowboys and Aliens’, which seems a little unfair. Although I’ve not seen that film, so can’t really comment. Inexplicably, there’s then a trailer for a Jason Statham movie called ‘Killer Elite’ which doesn’t even have any WWE stars in it. Weird. Justin Roberts (in a fetching white suit) introduces Cee-Lo Green, singing the Summerslam song, which I have to admit is fairly catchy. Unfortunately he seems to have come dressed in one of Diana Ross’ evening frocks. Does he not know he looks rather cool in just a suit? Is he planning on going straight to bed after this performance? And wouldn’t it have been cool to have Cee-Lo as the special referee instead of Triple H? Well, perhaps not, but it would have been different. Ooh, he’s now doing ‘Forget You’ as well! Does he realise there’s wrestling to be done? Does he think this is a full-on gig? You can stop now, Cee-Lo, really…no, come on now…someone – get the bloody microphone back off him! Perhaps they need some more time to repair the security barrier after Henry just broke it? That’s my guess. Still – I think Cee-Lo has had more than enough time in the spotlight now. In another time-wasting measure, we get an advert for Slim Jim’s, which I don’t think we can even get in the UK. There’s then an advert for something called a Slurpee, which comes in Cena, Miz, Rock or Stone Cold flavours. Mmmm…Stone Cold Slurpee…oh right, it’s an advert for Seven-Eleven. That’d figure.
WWE DIVA’S CHAMPIONSHIP MATCH: BETH PHOENIX (W/ NATALYA) VS. KELLY KELLY (CHAMPION) (W/ EVE)
OK, I don’t really know anyone who is a massive fan of the Diva’s division, but in reasons of sexual equality, we have to feature this. Beth Phoenix comes down to the ring with Natalya, and they both look rather butch, like they might be some sort of lesbian couple. Nice. At least Phoenix is more of a proper women’s wrestler, not like the fake Barbie dolls that populate the division, and there’s a chance Kelly Kelly might drop the belt here. After about twelve seconds Kelly has entered into irritating screeching mode, before sending Phoenix to the outside with some bizarre head-scissors move. Kelly floors Phoenix with a top rope body-splash. God, stuff like this makes you wish girls like Trish, Lita and Chyna were still in WWE, but alas, we have to put up with stuff like this. At least this match isn’t being used to break-up the two World title matches later in the card. That annoys me when that happens. Update: Kel is getting her face stuffed into the turnbuckle by Phoenix’s boot, and is now being dragged into the ring and having her face rubbed into Beth’s ass. It also annoys me that most women’s bouts now resort to little more than slaps and hair-pulling, but Phoenix is now looking to finish this one, by spinning Kelly around before getting her in some form of torture rack submission. Eve is down at ringside offering Kelly support, but she’s been rather ineffective so far, and looks a bit like a weathergirl. Beth has nice shiny silver pants on tonight, which look all silky. Mmm, silky. Ooh, I notice she’s just ripped her tights as well – she’ll need to bin them after the match, or put them on eBay, one of the two. Christ, it feels like this match has been going on for about three days…both of them look rather knackered as well. Beth gets Kelly up for her finisher, but Kelly rolls Beth up and retains the title amid much screaming and whooping. Great, well done Kelly – I’m pleased for you. Now bugger off.
WINNER BY PINFALL: KELLY KELLY (TITLE RETAINED)
Backstage again, we see Stephanie McMahon walking out of someone’s dressing room, then see it was John Cena’s. Perhaps she’s been ‘up to no good’! R-Truth is complaining to Jimmy Hart about the conspiracy that led to his loss in the opening match tonight, and Hart tells him he needs someone to take him to the top. Doesn’t Jimmy Hart look like porn star Ron Jeremy these days? It’s uncanny! Truth tells Jimmy he’s making sense, and that he has to think big. Truth then accuses Jimmy Hart of being ‘Little Jimmy’ and scares him off. Truth then shouts at a random guy and his little girl to stop looking at him. Cue advert time: Twix is the next product up for a mention, before we’re back with in-ring action.
WADE BARRETT VS. DANIEL BRYAN
Barrett enters first, wearing the long coat he did when he was rocking that Stu Barrett angle before he even joined WWE. We get a recap from Money in the Bank event, when Barrett was kicked off the ladder so Bryan could retrieve the briefcase. It’s good to see that Bryan now has new entrance music, rather than the old one, which didn’t suit him at all. Bryan has also had a hair-cut, probably on the advice of his mum. His beard seems longer however – perhaps he’s lost his clippers. I hope Barrett wins tonight, as he’s had a bit of a torrid time recently. Bryan is, obviously, giving away a fair bit in both height and weight, and he notably takes second fiddle to Barrett early on. Bryan however uses his quickness and technical ability to come back. Booker is back to calling Daniel Bryan “D. Bryan” and makes various comments about him being a vegan. Nice sequence of high-speed moves from Bryan to floor Barrett and gets him in a punishing arm-stretch. Bryan gets a two-count after a nice dropkick, before Barrett pummels him into the corner, before again stopping Barrett’s line of offence and scoring another near-fall. Bryan then goes at him again, kicking him viciously in the chest. He tries a springboard reversal off the ropes, but Barrett catches him with a nasty sidewalk slam. He punishes him further with a back-breaker off the ropes, before planting a chin-lock on the smaller man. Bryan fights back and levels Barrett with a clothesline before landing some European uppercuts. Barrett hits a flying forearm and chokes Bryan out on the ropes, before putting Bryan out the ring with a big boot. A quick cover comes to nothing, and Barrett goes back to a head-lock to wear Bryan down. Bryan is still fighting back however, and leaves Barrett stranded on the ropes after Barrett rushes him. Barrett tries doing his Wasteland move off the ring apron, but Bryan sends him crashing into the security barrier, before hitting a diving knee right in Barrett’s face. Both men are down on the outside, but Barrett rolls in first. Bryan is on the top rope and hits a front dropkick for a two-count. Barrett heaves himself up using the ropes, and kicks Bryan in the stomach. He goes for Wasteland again, but for a second time Bryan reverses, before bringing Barrett down with a flurry of kicks. A big kick to Barrett’s head brings a two-count again, before Barrett gets back up and responds with a huge kick to the face of his own. For a third time Barrett tries Wasteland, but elbows to the head result in Bryan locking in the Labell Lock, before Barrett reaches the rope to break the hold. Bryan gets Barrett up on the top rope, but Barrett reverses and clotheslines him off the top and finally lands Wasteland at the fourth time of asking for the victory.
WINNER BY PINFALL: WADE BARRETT
Barrett leaves the ring looking rather pleased with himself, and we get to see some outside shots of L.A., and Universal Studios. As usual, there are some National Guard soldiers in attendance, who naturally have to come to the event in uniform – I’m sure they’d much prefer to wear tracksuit bottoms or jeans…they’re just going to draw attention doing that. Another recap time, as we see the lengthy build-up to this match, which seems to have begun about nine years and forty-six matches ago. You know the drill – Christian got the title after Orton was disqualified, Christian had the poo kicked out of him, Orton gets rematch at Summerslam which Triple H makes a No Holds Barred match.
NO HOLDS BARRED WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP MATCH: CHRISTIAN (CHAMPION) VS. RANDY ORTON
Ooh, time for an Orton Beard-Watch, where we get to see if he’s approaching Jim Duggan levels of tramp-ness. Christian comes out first, and despite the times he’s had the title, I’m still not feeling him as a champion – the belt just doesn’t suit him. Jerry Lawler delivers tonight’s sponsor message with his usual aplomb: ‘Twix…pause like you mean it!’ – he does that so well. I wonder how extreme this match will get, owing to the continuing ‘sort-of-but-not-really’ PG-era. Christian addresses us with the microphone, where he tells us he cannot wait for this match. He delivers his big announcement on how everything will change: he tells us he’s a man of integrity, and introduces someone who is going to be in his corner – EDGE! Sure enough, his music hits, and Edge hits the stage, looking like he’s never been away. He’s had a hair-cut, and even has his traditional fireworks entrance restored. He gives Christian a big hug, and seems set to say a few words before the match. Christian leads the ‘thank you Edge’ chants, and Edge basically tells everyone that he will never be able to physically compete again. When he left though, he was happy to hand the torch onto Christian, and he was proud of him. Edge then goes onto say he thought it was unfair Teddy Long made Christian defend the title five days after he won it, and Christian kept complaining. Edge goes on about Christian moaning and whining, and how he became a two-time champion…by disqualification. And while Edge did some crappy things in the ring, he was never boring and hide behind lawyers. Edge tells Christian he became a disgrace and that he’s better than that, but that he needs to hear it from him that his friend would become ‘a whining, crying little bitch.’ With that, Edge leaves, putting Christian in a bit of a tizz and leaving Orton to make his entrance. ORTON BEARD-WATCH: Disappointing. It’s the same length as at Money in the Bank, which means Orton hasn’t been heeding my advice one iota. Shame. Cole feels Edge was a bit of an egomaniac to come down and say these things to Christian, but hey, there you go. Have you ever noticed how these No Holds Barred matches never start with the competitors using weapons? It always begins with about ten minutes of build up before something like a kendo stick comes out…let’s see if this is any different. Finally, the bell rings and we’re ready to go. Christian seems to be telling Orton something, before Orton let’s fly on him, building an early advantage. Christian asserts himself with a poke to the eye, and a flying elbow. Christian now stands on Orton’s back, choking him against the ropes, before getting himself caught in that off-the-ropes DDT Orton loves to do. He is sent over the top rope to the outside however, and Christian is rammed into the security barrier. Orton removes the top of the announcer table and clambers up onto it with Christian. He avoids an RKO, and grabs his title belt, before running up through the crowd to escape. Orton gives chase, and catches Christian half-way up the steps. He coerces Christian back down to ringside, before stomping on him a few times for good measure. While this is no disqualification, we’re told by Cole that the match must finish in the ring – so no falls count anywhere rules then. Orton has the champion back in the ring, and climbs the turnbuckle to hammer him with numerous blows to the face. Christian avoids Orton’s shoulder charge however, and Orton connects with only the turnbuckle. Christian now has the upper hand, and rolls him back into the ring, before retrieving – oh look, a kendo stick! Orton gets a few blows with it, before he’s choked rather unceremoniously with it. Christian gets a two-count, leaving Orton crawling around for breath. Orton is floored after a brief comeback, and another near-fall. Orton rolls up Christian after he charges at Orton, but doesn’t get a victory. Christian is on a bit of a roll now, getting a two-count after a spine-buster, and Orton appears to have a bloody mouth. Orton nails Christian with a dropkick after he tries to land a top-rope blow with the kendo stick. Orton clotheslines Christian a few times, setting up for an RKO, surely. Orton grabs the kendo stick, but is kicked in the face by Christian when he tries to use it. Orton lands a Lou Thesz press, but Christian manages to escape. He tries to land the Killswitch, but Orton reverses into his patented back-breaker for a two-count. Orton has that weird look in his eyes now, perhaps thinking about a kick to the head. And yes, he backs off and prepares to run at Christian, who wisely rolls to the outside and tries to pull Orton into the ring-post genitals first, but fails. Orton flips the ring apron up and searches underneath the ring for weaponry, retrieving a table. Then another one! One is loaded into the ring, before Orton goes back to pick up Christian, who rams him into the apron, and sets up a table of his own. Orton tries to grab something from under the ring and slams Christian’s head into the table on the outside. Orton lets fly with a nasty superplex onto the table lying flat in the ring, which must have still hurt! There’s still a big crack in it, but Orton gets it set up anyway. He rests it in the corner, as it won’t stand up by itself. Christian avoids being thrown through it, and lands an inverted DDT, before setting up for a Spear, which Orton reverses into an RKO position, before he’s pushed out the ring. Christian is thrown into the ring steps knee-first, before Orton picks up the larger set of steps and sits them on edge against the ring apron. But it’s Orton who is flung head first into the steps, leaving him dazed. Christian drags Orton around the ringside area by his arm to the Spanish announcer’s table, which he removes the top from as well as the monitors. One of them is crashed into Orton’s head, before Orton is rolled prone onto the table top. Christian mocks him with the fist-pounding he does before the RKO, and invites him to rise. It seems Christian might do an RKO on Orton here, but Orton reverses and lands one of his own, completely breaking the table into bits. Orton seems to have hurt himself though, while Christian is completely out of it. Both men are crawling towards the ring now, and Christian seems nearer, using the ring steps to get there. The table in the ring is still set up in the corner – I presume that will come into play soon. Christian lands a quick Killswitch, but the count is only two! Christian is convinced it was three, however. It sure looked very, VERY close. Christian is once again outside and comes back with two steel chairs, which can never be good. Christian seems to be setting up for the Con-Chair-To, the move he famously created with Edge. Christian spits in Orton’s face, a repeat of the insult he made in the last match. Orton fights back, battering him with one of the chairs after avoiding the Con-Chair-To, and knocking him off the ring apron and through the table that was set up outside the ring. The ring steps are brought into the ring itself, and two trash-cans are thrown in the ring along with another kendo stick. The end can’t be far off, and it don’t look good for Christian now Orton is angry. Orton stands on the ring steps, and presses Christian’s head into the metal. Christian gets caught in Orton’s snap powerslam, right through the table set up in the corner, before Christian gets some more kendo stick treatment, which breaks while Christian is getting beaten up. Christian is then DDT’d onto a trashcan, which Orton hurts his arm in the process of administering. His face is also smeared with blood as he drops to the floor to pound the mat in readiness for the RKO. Christian responds with a smack from the kendo stick which surprises Orton, before springing off the ropes…and right into an RKO RIGHT ONTO THE RING STEPS! Christian crumples up like he’s been in a car accident, and Orton crawls over for a cover, and gets the 1-2-3 to become champion again! Orton certainly loves being the winner, judging by his knowing smirks at the crowd as he celebrates with the belt.
WINNER BY PINFALL: RANDY ORTON (NEW CHAMPION)
Following this match, we’re in need of a bit of cooling off, and we get to see a bit of the fan events being held in the run-up to Summerslam. Rey Mysterio tells us that a lot of his fans are kids, and he wants to show them they don’t have to be worried about bullies – perhaps he could show the kids how to do the 619 safely, in order to protect themselves against bullies? Alternatively, they could always hand out a few steel chairs for a similar sort of defence mechanism. Perhaps build a Hell In A Cell structure in every school for any playground-based fights that break out? But then again, I guess that’s not in the spirit of things, is it? Shame, really…backstage again, we see Stephanie chatting with Triple H in his referee get-up before he heads off to the ring for his officiating duties. There’s a highlight package showing the night CM Punk won the title from Cena in his hometown, shortly before his exit from the WWE, and Vince McMahon being relieved of his day-to-day duties by Triple H. Cena recapturing the WWE title is shown, before CM Punk made his return with the title he won – setting up tonight’s match.
UNDISPUTED WWE CHAMPIONSHIP SPECIAL REFEREE MATCH: JOHN CENA (CHAMPION) VS. CM PUNK (CHAMPION) (SPECIAL REFEREE: TRIPLE H)
I think this is the first time Triple H has been a special referee isn’t it? Feel free to prove me wrong…I wonder what they’re going to do with the title belt that is not required after tonight – are they going to melt it down, or perhaps auction it off? Maybe merge both of them into one Extra-Large belt (that might be a bit unwieldy, however…) It’d be nice if they made a return to the older style WWE Championship belt – the circular one that they had around 1999-2000 would be nice. We’re told this is the first time we’ve had a WWE champion vs. WWE champion, and apart from the unification bouts for both the titles we had around the early 2000s, that certainly is the deal. Things start out quite slow and technical, with CM Punk keeping Cena down with a head-lock. CM Punk seems to revel in the crowd support, but Cena is beginning to take control. Booker T asks how much experience Triple H has of being a referee, and that you have to know the job, which figures. Cena takes Punk down and slaps on an arm-bar before moving up to the head, but is grounded by a CM Punk dropkick. Cena is getting into his stride more now, landing a Fisherman suplex and keeping Punk contained with a head-lock again. Triple H has not had much to do so far but watch and make the odd one-count. Punk escapes the head-lock and takes time out to recover from the rigours of the match so far, before going to work on Cena’s midsection, including a hard knee lift which garners a two-count. Punk tries to suplex Cena over the ropes back into the ring, but Cena reverses it, until Punk ascends the ropes to springboard kick Cena to the outside. Triple H begins a slow count, which wouldn’t really resolve anything as a title can be retained on a count-out, so we’d not get the ‘undisputed’ champion we need from tonight’s match! Punk is landing some blows on a grounded Cena now, but the match is still a bit of a slow-burner. Cena gets to his feet even though Punk has a submission hold locked in, and hits a side-slam that leaves both men on the floor. Cena hits some shoulder blocks, before Punk goes back to the stomach with a knee. Cena continues to build momentum, before Punk lands a beautiful knee to the chin, which is countered by Cena and leaves Punk on the floor. Punk counters Cena after an STF attempt, and puts a submission of his own in leaving Cena in a very difficult situation. Again Cena escapes and hits the STF, but not 100%. Punk rolls over and reverses the pressure, in what is a great sequence of moves. Triple H does his referee duties well, counting whenever a man’s shoulders drop to the floor. Out of nowhere, Cena pulls yet another STF out, which Punk manages to break with a leg on the ropes. Cena rushes Punk on the ropes, but Punk sends him crashing to the outside. Again Triple H begins a count, and Punk takes some time out to rest, before taking a suicide dive through the ropes and sending Cena into the security barrier. Seriously, Triple H is onto eight on his count – and Cole finally realises that both men could get counted out and what might happen. When he’s about to get to ten, Triple H goes outside and hauls both men back into the ring, showing that he’s not willing for a count-out victory for either man. Well at least that’s that question answered. Both men resort to kicking and punching each other back and forth, before Punk seems to win out before getting caught in the Attitude Adjustment which he escapes. Cena lands perhaps the most perfect dropkick ever and nearly takes Punk’s head off, and hits his Five Knuckle Shuffle and goes for the AA again – Punk reverses into a sunset flip and gets a two-count and lands a massive kick to the back of the head for another close fall. Punk hoists Cena up for the GTS, but Cena lands another flurry of blows and slams but can only get a two! Cena heads up top as Punk stirs, and is knocked off the turnbuckle – Punk then hits a top rope bulldog, and pins Cena for a two. Again Punk ascends the ropes, and tries a cross-body block, but is caught in an STF as he makes the dive. Punk is in the middle of the ring, but refuses to tap, and instead makes the ropes again to break the hold. Punk reverses an AA into the GTS, but Cena then turns it into the AA again which he manages to convert, which Cena can only get a two-count off! Cena gets up top again and goes for his top rope leg drop, but Punk lands his GTS, which garners yet another two count. Here’s another question for you: if one man gets disqualified, does his opponent become the undisputed champion? I’m guessing so, but I can’t see this match ending that way. Punk is getting a little riled now that he can’t put Cena away, and Lawler says that both men have given all they have, yet they’ve not got the job done. Punk goes up top again and once again, it’s a two count after he lands a big top rope move! It’s great that Triple H has remained impartial in this match, but then again he doesn’t have any loyalties either side…Punk gets caught in a quick roll-up for a two count, and Cena fights back with snapping jabs and punches, before Punk hits a high knee lift, and another GTS! Triple H counts the three, even though Cena’s foot goes onto the bottom rope, which he failed to see! A very controversial ending, but Punk has been awarded the undisputed belt – and Cena seems to be telling Triple H what actually happened. Punk celebrates on the top rope, as Cena skulks off, seemingly resigned that his arguments won’t be heard at this stage. It’s not a clean finish to the match by any means, but for now it seems we have a new undisputed champ!
WINNER BY PINFALL: CM PUNK (NEW UNDISPUTED CHAMPION)
Triple H claps Punk – could it be that he knew about Cena’s foot being on the rope? (He did have an earpiece in for the whole match). He shakes Punk’s hand and raises his arm in victory. Triple H walks off, his job done, as Punk continues to celebrate. But wait – out of nowhere, Big Daddy Cool is here! KEVIN NASH IS IN THE RING! And he’s laid Punk out with a massive power-bomb as Triple H watches in disbelief from the top of the ramp! Nash escapes through the crowd, not waiting to see the consequences of his actions, and Triple H is stunned. And now, ALBERTO DEL RIO IS COMING TO THE RING AND CASHING IN HIS MONEY IN THE BANK CASE! Punk is still dazed and confused in the centre of the ring after being put down by Nash, and doesn’t seem to realise Del Rio is here. Del Rio’s entrance music certainly never hit, but the Money in the Bank attempt is definitely on this time, as we have a referee accompanying him. Del Rio urges Punk to rise, but dives on him for a quick pin to claim the WWE Championship! Triple H is still looking worried and distraught at what’s happened, as he continues to look around for Kevin Nash, his former friend and stable member. Trips is now trying to reason with the referee who counted Del Rio’s title win about Nash’s involvement and the chaos surrounding the end of the match. Del Rio scurries back up the entrance ramp, hardly believing he has the championship as Punk lies prone in the ring! There will be fallout for sure after this turn of events, so stay tuned to see what happens next!
WINNER BY PINFALL: ALBERTO DEL RIO (NEW CHAMPION)

0 comentarios:
Publicar un comentario