20 May 2011, WWE Smackdown results
Parameter name: request
Translate Request has too much data
Parameter name: request
Sheamus vs. Christian:
Tonight’s episode wastes no time getting right to the action. We’re treated to a near 15-minute bout to kick off the program between Sheamus and Christian. There’s even a little promo vignette by Sheamus during the match that’s reminiscent of the 80s, talking about how it took Christian 17 years to win a world title, but it only took Sheamus one. This match is a solid B for duration and activity. Both men utilized their standard moves early without anything overly exception. It was solid if not memorable. Sheamus had a majority of the offense and a very near fall late in the match after a flying shoulder block over the top rope. He then went for Pale Justice finisher but Christian slid out the side and got a rollup for the pinfall victory. Sheamus was furious and Mark Henry ran to the ring for a 2 on 1 beatdown. After a minute or so of beating on Christian, Orton emerged on the ramp and contemplated what to do. He charged to the ring for the save and cleared the ring. Once again it was Christian and the Viper standing triumphant together and shaking hands. I was waiting for one of them to bury the other and be a turncoat, but it didn’t happen as Christian appreciated the help.
Brie Bella vs. Natalya Neidhart
After a lengthy buildup for Over the Limit, we get to Divas action in what I believe was a non-title match (admittedly, I forwarded through the intros). Natalya showed some nice acrobatics and creative takedowns early on. Neither Bella is convincing as a dominant woman wrestler, but they look good in the black leather. Natalya with a spinning clothesline followed by her powerful vertical suplex and then a sharp snap mare. Soon after, Brie avoided a charging Natalya in the corner and then hit a simple falling-down bulldog for a rushed pinfall victory. It’s annoying how Divas just take turns between sucking and being on top as champs. In what world does Brie Bella cleanly defeat Natalya? I guess in this one. But who really cares about the Divas anyway…not me. Beth Phoenix and Natalya are the only believable, solid females.
The Corre (Wade Barrett, Heath Slater, Justin Gabriel) vs. Ezekial Jackson, Kane, Big Show
Ezekial Jackson comes to the ring and cuts a promo. He keeps referring to biblical citations regarding the Book of Ezekial and personification of dominance. It just doesn’t go over with the crowd or fans. He puts himself over for slamming Big Show and criticizes The Corre for depending on him and not letting him walk away. He admits to taking a beating over the past two weeks at their hands, but he will not be broken. They’ve unleashed a force that cannot be stopped and he won’t rest until they’ve all suffered, starting with Wade of Barrett. He strikes a pose and The Corre’s music hits and they briskly walk to the ring and surround him. Teddy Long shuffles out to the ramp and says this won’t go down tonight. He’s booking a 6-man tag team match and EZ Jackson’s partners are Big Show and Kane! For what it’s worth, Slater’s sporting new long pants instead of his usual short trunks.
The match starts with Show tossing around Gabriel and nailing some chops before Kane comes in and hits some kicks, punches, and elbows. Gabriel hits a reverse spin kick and tags out to Slater. Slater takes his usual beating at the hands of Kane…he would have been a great 80s jobber. Slater scrambles away and tags Barrett, who is reticent to enter. Kane tags in Jackson and the crowd approves. Barrett gets the early jump with some kicks but Jackson overpowers Barrett and clubs him with a clothesline sending Wade backwards over the top rope. After the break, it’s Jackson running through Gabriel and Show tags in and hits a fallaway leg drop on Gabriel for a nearfall. Justin is saved by Slater. He lands some martial arts kicks on Show but they’re largely no-sold. Barrett back in and attacks Jackson aggressively. Now it’s Slater but he’s lit up with a big shoulder block. Kane tags in and lands the flying lariat followed by a side slam for a 2.5 count. Barrett bends the rules to get Kane out of the ring and Gabriel hits a slingshot plancha over the top rope onto Kane. Barrett helps by slamming Kane backwards into the ring apron. Kane getting multi-teamed by The Corre, and the former Nexus trio is using impressive teamwork and strategy at this stage of the match. Kane hits a belly to back suplex to get out of trouble and off the ropes both he and Barrett land simultaneous big boots –that’s the first time I remember seeing that. Slater and Kane both back and forth again, but Jackson gets the hot tag and levels Gabriel with a powerful clothesline, followed by multiple body slams (four in a row). Shortly after, everyone rushes the ring and Kane hits a chokeslam on Slater. Jackson hits another body slam on Gabriel and then puts the South African in a standing back breaker! Wow, been a while since I saw this move. Gabriel submits to the torture rack and Jackson has made an impressive statement. Winners by submission victory are Jackson, Kane, and Big Show.
After the match, Christian is interviewed back stage and he continues to build his match with Orton this Sunday at Over the Limit. We go to commercial.
Chavo Guerrero vs. Daniel Bryan
Chavo Guerrero comes to the ring to a Spanish Jam and cuts a promo against Sin Cara. He tells Cara he couldn’t “even” beat Daniel Bryan last week without his help. He guarantees he’ll beat Bryan in less than five minutes, and puts himself over for this Sunday’s match against Cara at Over the Limit. It’s obvious Cara will win, but I’m happy to see Chavo getting a genuine match at a PPV again. The clock appears in the bottom corner and starts ticking down from 5:00. Bryan with an arm drag to start and some catch/chain wrestling takes place for the first minute, until Bryan lands a drop kick on Chavo’s kisser at 3:45. (or 1:15 dpending which way you count). Chavo gets a near fall at the 2 minute mark after a solid belly to back suplex. He puts a camel clutch on Bryan next, but Bryan gets to his feet and elbows his way out. They exchange nice rollup attempts and half way through it’s anybody’s match (theoretically). Bryan hits a series of kicks to the kneeling Guerrero, but Chavo recovers. He goes for a clothesline but is nearly put in the Labelle Lock. Chavo avoids it and gets to the ropes, but when he goes outside he’s hit with a suicide dive. Back inside, Bryan misses a missile dropkick and is nearly pinned! Chavo goes for his triple-suplex move with 25 seconds left and then hits a frog splash with 10 seconds left…Bryan kicks out with five seconds left, and then kicks out again. The match continues after the 5:00 minutes expires and Bryan is tossed outside the ring. Cara runs to the ring and disposes of Chavo, and I guess I was wrong about the match continuing. This was a win-win situation for all involved though. Chavo actually gets a moral victory by not jobbing out to Hornswoggle, and has a good match with Daniel Bryan (albeit brief). Bryan doesn’t lose to Chavo, and the buildup for Sunday’s match with Cara and Guerrero is in tact.
Ted Dibiase vs. Trent Barretta
Next up is an interesting development as Ted Dibiase is introduced WITH Cody Rhodes in tow (and Cody’s assistants with paper bags). It appears we could have a little Legacy reunion until Rhodes orders Dibiase to put a bag on his head. This is getting strangely interesting as Ted doesn’t acquiesces and willingly puts on the bag. Rhodes asks him his name, and Dibiase responds in a Mexican accent “my name is…Corpus Christi”. (??). Rhodes continues in his methodical monotone by asking, “what are you hiding?”, to which “Corpus Christi” responds that ‘he’s hideous’. This schtik continues as Corpus Christi (Dibiase) says he wears his bag everywhere because his teacher, mother, and father are hideous. The crowd boos and Rhodes looks irritating, but I kind of like the bit. Rhodes berates the crowd, telling them to ‘shut up and put the paper bags on’. Rhodes says, ‘what once was a blooming flower is now a wilting shrub’. Rhodes asks if Corpus would like to add anything, and Dibiases takes off the bag and says, “yeah, bring out my opponent”. I have little clue what that was all about, but it kept my attention. One can only assume the ‘wilting flower’ line by Rhodes is in reference to Dibiase’s career. Trent Barretta, incidentally, is the opponent and he runs out to his generic “rock” number. Barretta hits a couple nice aerial moves right away, but Dibiase hits his finisher a minute in to get the quick (and much needed) win. Dibases places a paper bag on the KO’d Barretta … a la Jake the Snake and damian … and we go to an ad for Orton’s new movie about some nerdy kid. It’s good to see Dibiase and Rhodes having this angle together.
The Great Khali vs. Jey Uso
Khali is introduced with Uso already in the ring. We get a recap of Jinder Mahal reaming out Khali last week and bitch-slapping him twice. Anyone who does that to Khali is good in my book. I wish Vince McMahan would do the same. For the first time I can remember, there’s a storyline that moderately interests me involving Great Khali. As for the match, this is an obvious squash in the making, despite the fact Khali can’t wrestle to save his life. Mahal inevitably comes down with the microphone in hand. He’s pissed off again and berating Khali, presumably in native Indian (I wouldn’t know). He slaps him again, and Khali proceeds to look on in agreement. He returns to the ring and quickly disposes of Uso for the pinfall. I guess Mahal told him to quit screwing around and get down to business. They show someone in a black suit tending to Uso (all that happened to him was a chop and a bad choke slam, how bad could he be??). Khali grabs this man and chops him in the head too. I thought/hoped it was brother Singh, but I don’t think it was.
MAIN EVENT: Mark Henry vs. World Heavyweight Champion—Randy Orton
The champ is introduced first and the not new but improved Mark Henry comes next in all black attire. One only need look as far as Mark Henry and R Truth to see how a heel turn can take someone from the brink of obscurity to the main event scene, literally overnight. Henry lands several, slow, plodding, but powerful maneuvers early in the match to dominate the first couple minutes. This man is in no rush to do anything. Orton fires back with some hard rights and standing drop kick. He hits a second one to knock Henry off the apron and to the ringside floor. He chases Mark outside and pushes him back in, but as he re-enters Henry drives his shoulder in Orton’s solar plexus. Henry hits a power slam and gets a two count using the Kind Kong Bundy pin style (hands on the chest). Several head butts and stomps keep Henry in control, as he barks out “I own you, champ!”. Henry uses his ‘world’s strongest’ vice grip to tear into Orton’s shoulder muscle, but Orton gets out and lands a couple knee drops. He stomps all over Henry’s body to wear down the big man. Orton goes into Apex Predator mode and as he tries for the middle rope DDT, we hear the crowd reaction rise just as Sheamus does a run-in. It’s two on one now and we have a repeat of earlier in the episode. Christian appears at the top of the ramp and stretches and watches as Orton is beaten down. He eventually runs to the ring and starts clubbing away at Sheamus and chases him away. Orton gets rid of Henry and the two standoff in the middle of the ring. Orton shoves Christian and mouths, ‘what was that?’. Orton cools down just Henry and Sheamus re-enter, thereby galvanizing Christian and Orton again. Orton hits an RKO on Henry and lets loose an uncharacteristically charismatic celebratory reaction. All is well again with Christian and Orton as they shake hands and Orton’s lips read “Thank you”. The episode fades to black with a close-up of the World Title… to be continue Sunday!

0 comentarios:
Publicar un comentario