Heel review – week 11 (2011-2012 season)

23:49 Publicado por Mario Galarza

Error in deserializing body of reply message for operation 'Translate'. The maximum string content length quota (8192) has been exceeded while reading XML data. This quota may be increased by changing the MaxStringContentLength property on the XmlDictionaryReaderQuotas object used when creating the XML reader. Line 1, position 9743.
Error in deserializing body of reply message for operation 'Translate'. The maximum string content length quota (8192) has been exceeded while reading XML data. This quota may be increased by changing the MaxStringContentLength property on the XmlDictionaryReaderQuotas object used when creating the XML reader. Line 1, position 9148.

Well another week has gone by, or almost two as it has taken me so long to do my report this week. Still like always the report is here and I’m ready to talk about what’s going on in the heel world of professional wrestling right now. I’m still a little bitter about the WWE and how they have completely retreated from doing anything risky or unpredictable, in favour of having obvious champions and challengers who never really had a chance of winning the title, at least as long as they are around that is. But anyway enough of this negativity, let’s get on with the report…

Weekly Top Ten:

1st Place: R-Truth (10/10)

Once again the newly formed heel face of the WWE comes out on top. With the Miz distracted putting over his former pupil and C.M. Punk leaving for awhile it seems like Truth will have the run of Raw for awhile. At least until the WWE decides it’s time to give Del Rio his WWE title shot, which will no doubt come around Summerslam, So Truth better make the most of his time in the sun while it lasts.

2nd Place: C.M. Punk (9/10)

Pretty soon the Straight Edge Saviour will be leaving us, which is probably why the WWE chose to book him to work with Mysterio in a safe program until he has left so as not to kill anyone else’s, or his own momentum. Although I find it strange that the WWE would care as usually they let their top guys bury anyone they want, whether they are about to leave, or injured, or whatever. Just look at Mysterio himself for this, still it’s been said that Punk has never had the best backstage reputation, as he’s been known for having a ‘bad attitude’, which is probably why the best heel in the WWE has been buried for the past year and is now leaving for the foreseeable future. Still it’s nice that before he decided to officially go Punk was able to get wins over the kids favourites, just for a little mud in the eye.

3rd Place: Christian (8/10)

The former Captain of Charisma is now fully pulling for the dark side. It’s a shame Christian is on Smackdown as I think there might be space for him on Raw now. I think he would make a good opponent for Cena if he truly is booked to keep the title until the next Wrestlemania in his match with the Rock. After all Christian is so used to losing to the ‘bigger guys’ that he’d do an excellent job.

4th Place: The Miz (7/10)

The former most must-see WWE champion spent another week of being owned by Alex Riley to put him over, but the fact is the Miz still rules on the mic and was able to talk his way into fourth place. Still losing to Piper on Raw must be a bit embarrassing to say the least, I blame WWE All Stars.

5th Place: Sheamus (6/10)

Well it was an interesting week for the Celtic Warrior, starting off on Raw by absolutely decimating Santino and then ending Smackdown by being punted in the head by Randy Orton, a move that has spelt prolonged time off for many a superstar. Still I reckon it was only done to justify his absence from the PPV and that he will be back much sooner than some others, but we’ll just have to wait and see.

6th Place: Drew McIntyre (5/10)

McIntyre got a new lease of life on Superstars, getting to cut an anti-American promo that might save him from becoming a complete obscurity. In fact with a bit of work McIntyre could be another top contender to challenge Cena for his title before his big match with the Rock. I’m just basing this all on the fact that the WWE seem completely set in their ways about this and I can’t see anyone beating Cena any time soon. Then again since I haven’t seen Capital Punishment yet I could be completely wrong, but I doubt it.

7th Place: Alberto Del Rio (4/10)

In a bid to keep Del Rio fresh for his inevitable feud with Cena the WWE has handed him this easily resolved rivalry with Big Show. The only problem is he will either pull out a surprise victory, or get buried like most of the Big Show’s other opponents. I know it is the nature of the business really, but it is hard to see face superstars always come out on top over more talented heel superstars just so the little kiddies can go to bed happy at night, it’s just depressing.

8th Place: Zack Ryder (3/10)

The self-made man that is Zack Ryder missed out on being featured in his home town on Raw’s All Star night. Still he got a match on Superstars, and if he had wrestled on Raw it would have probably been in a losing effort anyway. He probably would have taken the place of Santino, so never mind eh.

9th Place: Jinder Mahal (2/10)

Again Mahal appears on the chart, but still he has done little to earn it but be the new kid on the block. I’m hoping that the combination of Khali and Mahal will actually do something on Smackdown, rather than follow the usual Khali pattern of starting a storyline or heel/face turn that leads to nothing and lasts for a ridiculously short amount of time. That’s what happens when you employ someone just because of their size and not because of any actual talent.

10th Place: JTG (1/10)

The Fliest manager in the WWE scrapes his way onto the chart this week, despite his superstar, Tyson Kidd, actually losing. I’m still not too sure what the WWE is trying to do by giving Kidd multiple managers, but whatever it is it will have to end soon as they are running out of people to put in his corner.

2011-2012 Season Top Ten: Overall Top Ten:

1st Place: R-Truth (81/100) – 1st Place: The Miz (609/1090)

2nd Place: The Miz (65/100) – 2nd Place: C.M. Punk (607/1090)

3rd Place: Alberto Del Rio (51/100) – 3rd Place: Chris Jericho (564/1090)

4th Place: Cody Rhodes (46/100) – 4th Place: Jack Swagger (338/1090)

5th Place: Michael Cole (43/100) – 5th Place: Dolph Ziggler (297/1090)

6th Place: Wade Barrett (31/90) – 6th Place: Cody Rhodes (284/1090)

7th Place: Sheamus (31/90) – 7th Place: Sheamus (276/1090)

8th Place: Jack Swagger (30/90) – 8th Place: Alberto Del Rio (246/1090)

9th Place: C.M. Punk (29/90) – 9th Place: Wade Barrett (234/1090)

10th Place: Drew McIntyre (18/90) – 10th Place: Randy Orton (224/1090)

Weekly Filler:

The Face-Off: Raw’s All Star Night

This whole thing just annoyed me as it seemed so thrown together, apart from the main event, with most matches being squashes or crowd pleasers, as in they were short, full of spots, and gave the kids something to cheer for. Most matches meant nothing and didn’t last anywhere near long enough. The worst example of course was the Divas match, just throwing every diva the WWE have into a match doesn’t make it good, especially when barely any of those divas get to wrestler in the match itself!

Face the Facts: Bound For Glory Series

I like this idea simply because I love statistics and I think they should be paid more attention to in wrestling. After all if you have good writers you can write stories around the stats and rankings, and what’s more, the stats and rankings can make their own storylines just by generating interest. Another reason this move is good is because it solidifies the idea that on Impact ‘Wrestling Matters’ by attaching values to a matches outcome, it also hopefully promises some high quality matches, without any of the pomp and circumstance that some storylines can bring. Most importantly this system should at least in theory stop a lot of run ins, which is how TNA usually likes to end its matches, due to the -10 points for disqualification. The system basically favours towards TNA/Impact putting on actually decent wrestling matches that will entertain the fans and which the outcomes will be cared about.

On the Rise: Bischoff’s “Two Count”

For all of the rubbish that Bischoff and Russo come up with in their quest to venerate heels while at the same time taking heel success to the level where fans who support them actually start hating the heels of the company, his latest move was actually quite clever and made sense. The idea that Sting would break the cover he had on Mr. Anderson after hearing three pounds on the mat was a work of creative genius, simply for the fact that it would be natural human reaction. Also there is nothing illegal about slapping the mat in the middle of a ref’s three count, not really, and so it can be done in full view of the ref, without having to worry about whether the ref would disqualify you or not. Finally I like it just because I haven’t actually seen it being used before, maybe I missed it, but if this fake count is a new idea then it is truly a great one. Quite believable and original, so not like TNA at all then.

Flat-Footed: Ziggler’s Ditching Vicky Fake Out

This really annoyed me, just for the fact that Steve Austin honestly had me believing that they were going to get rid of Vicky and let Ziggler run on his own, something that I think he sorely needs to do right now as he is fine on the mic and Vicky barely does anything for him anyway. Still I’d prefer it if Ziggler as able to use his partnership with Vicky to turn face, by her betraying him or whatever.

That’s all for now, sorry for the lateness of this report. I’ve been filming for the past two weeks and so it’s been hard to find the time to write or even watch the shows for the report. Still I’m looking forward to catch up on what happened this week in the WWE, especially with Capital Punishment just been and gone. As per usual that PPV’s outcomes will be considered and discussed next week but for now I can only hope in eager anticipation that the WWE aren’t being completely boring and PG still. Of course they no doubt are but I can live in hope can’t I? This is James Wright signing off.


Source: wrestlingtruth.com

  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes

0 comentarios:

Publicar un comentario