October 17, 2011, WWE Raw Results
AppId is over the quota
Cody Rhodes, Christian & Mark Henry Vs Randy Orton, Sheamus & John Morrison – Mark Henry got the win over Morrison via the world’s strongest slam.
- Eve Vs Natalya – Eve won via moonsault off the top rope
- CM Punk Vs The Miz – Punk won via Roll up
- Zack Ryder Vs Jack Sawgger – Zack Ryder wins via Rough Ryder
- Mason Ryan Vs Dolph Ziggler – Ziggler wins via DQ
- John Cena & Jim Ross Vs Alberto Del Rio & Michael Cole – JR won via ankle lock
Raw kicked off in Mexico City with none other than the vice president of talent relation and Interim general manager of Raw, John Laurinaitis. Mr Laurinaitis made his way to the ring where he began to tease the Mexican crowd by announcing the return of Ray Mysterio……to his doctor in San Diego, well that was what I think he was trying say but I couldn’t quite make it of through all the mumbling and messing up lines. I have no problem with Laurinaitis being GM, in fact it makes more sense than HHH, however the only skill you need to have is to be good on the mic and John is far from good. Nevertheless he continued to so state that he was wrong for firing Jim Ross and therefore has re-hired good old JR, JR made his way to the ring where John Laurinaitis greeted him with a hug and informed him that he didn’t want JR to commentate tonight instead he has arranged a match which will settle JR’s feud with Michael Cole and that match will be John Cena & Jim Ross Vs Del Rio & Michael Cole.
***Commercial Break***
The first match on raw was a 6 man tag team match which consisted of the viper, Jomo and the great white taking on the team of the world’s strongest man, captain charisma, the mono tone man Cody Rhodes. On their way to the ring Randy Orton and Sheamus got a great pop from the Mexican crowd. The match was a good heat builder for the PPV this Sunday, as Orton and Rhodes fought on the outside and which lead Rhodes fleeing backstage with Randy hot on his tail.
***Commercial Break***
Christian and Sheamus also took to the outside and began to fight through the crowd, which left poor old John Morrison to put Henry over once again.
We find out via the titantron that CM Punk will square off against The Miz tonight
***Commercial Break***
As we come back from another commercial we shown yet another Brodus clay clip of him destroying other superstars, I don’t know about you but I’m starting to get bored of seeing a video of Clay and would much rather see the real thing, as the WWE have spent enough time building him up.
John Laurinaitis is back stage in his office talking to someone on his cell phone when Del Rio interrupts him, Alberto complains about the match he was put in tonight, in which Laurinaitis informed him that the winner of the match will be able to choose the stipulation for his match against Cena at Vengeance this Sunday.
Next saw Eve Torres take on Natalya, as Eve made her way to the ring Michael Cole announced that Eve will get a shot at the WWE Divas championship against Beth Phoenix at Vengeance.
As far as the match goes, it was rather disappointing. Eve got the victory over Natalya via a Moonsault even though Natalya carried her through the whole thing. When it comes to the women’s division I think the WWE are right to have put the strap on Beth as she is clearly one of the best women’s wrestlers the company has, however why on earth is Natalya not getting over? It baffles me as to why the WWE aren’t pushing, arguably their best female talent Natalya and instead decides to put people like Kelly Kelly over who in my opinion if you asked to stack three Lego bricks on top of each other, she would struggle. Also whenever Karma makes her return, I hope it’s not Natalya doing the jobbing.
***Commercial Break***
The next match of the night was CM Punk Vs The Miz and on his way to the ring Punk got a great reaction by the crowd. Truth and Miz then rap (sort of) their way to the ring and cut a promo at Punk saying that Punk is Jealous as they managed to do what he couldn’t which was to get HHH fired. Truth added that he hates Punk as he runs his mouth too much and at Vengeance him and Hunter are going get got. Triple H’s music hits and on his way to the ring Hunter begins to take off his jacket and tie, he enters the ring to back up punk.
***Commercial Break***
The match stars with HHH in Punk’s corner and Truth in Miz’s corner. During the contest Punk is thrown to the outside, Miz then distracts the referee whilst truth hit punk with water bottle, triple H then chased truth up ramp. Before Hunter can get his hands on Truth, John Laurinaitis comes out to stop the match. Laurinaitis says that there is an immigration problem, and HHH must immediately leave the arena. HHH refuses to leave, but Laurinaitis informs HHH that since he is still the COO, it would be an embarrassment to the company if he doesn’t. The COO reluctantly made his way out of the arena.
***Commercial Break***
The match is restarted and R-Truth has made his way back to ringside. After a few knees and elbows by punk, he goes for the GTS which Miz counters into a skull crushing finale however Punk manages to wriggle of it and pushes Miz into R-Truth who is standing on the apron, Punk goes for the roll up and gets the victory.
After the match is over, Truth and Miz beat on Punk for a substantial amount of time. Eventually a rush of referees hit the ring to break up the beat down, Miz and Truth seem to calmly comply with the ref’s request but both decide to give Punk a finisher each just to make sure the job is done. Overall this match was a good one and done exactly what it was suppose to, which was to build heat for Miz and Truth ahead of their tag match at Vengeance.
***Commercial Break***
Jack Swagger makes his way to the ring being accompanied by Vickie Guerrero and Dolph Ziggler. Once in the ring Vickie warms up the crowd by stating that she is the Angelina Jolie of Mexico City, she also added that John Laurinaitis has granted a match for the Tag titles at vengeance.
SPOILER ALERT:
This announcement seemed a bit strange as at the SmackDown taping, it was also announced that Dolph Ziggler is going to defend the US title against Zack Ryder (which I’d much rather watch).
Nevertheless the mic was then passed to the United States Champ Dolph Ziggler who cut the best promo of the night by far, stating how it is a privilege for the audience to see them in the ring. In my opinion, I feel Ziggler has proven himself in many ways to the WWE, for example he can wrestle with the best of them, his good mic skills and not forgetting his ability to draw heat (with a little help from Vickie Guerrero) and therefore is entitled to a bit more of a push. Anyway, after Ziggler’s promo he passes the mic to Swagger who begins to sing the American national anthem, which is gratefully interrupted by Zack Ryder who is scheduled to face Swagger.
Ryder gets a quick win over the all American American via the Rough Ryder, after the match Swagger and Ziggler both attack the True Long Island Iced-Z until Mason Ryan comes to his aid. Jack and Dolph exit ring before the Welsh monster can get his hands on either of them but Mason Ryan calls Ziggler back to the ring as they have a match next.
***Commercial Break***
The match starts with Zack Ryder, Jack Swagger and Vickie Guerrero at ringside in their respective corners. Throughout the match Mason Ryan is all over Ziggler. However Ziggler roles out of the ring in which Ryan follows, only to be met by a slap across the face by Angelina, I mean Vickie (such an uncanny resemblance). Mason Ryan retaliates by beating on Ziggler in the corner of the ring, the ref counts to 5 for Ryan to let him Dolph go but he refuses and this leads to a DQ.
Jim Ross and Cena cut a promo back stage, where JR says he too old to wrestle a match and he doesn’t want to mess it up for Cena. Cena says he hasn’t got anything to worry about as Del Rio has never beaten him, JR adds that he would love to get hold of Cole if possible.
We go back to Michael Cole at ringside who gets on the mic to say that he is off to get ready for his match and that he will beat good old JR and may even pin John Cena. Cole also added that his wife is Mexican so they have to cheer him. No crowd reaction at all.
***Commercial Break***
Josh Matthews joins the King on commentary; they then go through all the matches scheduled for Vengeance before Del Rio makes his way to the ring.
***Another Commercial break, really? only 3 minutes after the last one?***
Cole make his way to the ring with no music and no reaction from the crowd what so ever (I bet WWE weren’t expecting that).
JR makes his way to the ring and awaits Cena, Cena’s music hits and there are mostly cheers but some boos from the crowd. Midway through the match I didn’t think a John Cena match could get any more comical than we have previously seen but it is possible, all you have to do is just add Michael Cole. The match was very slow with Cena getting beat any trying to sell and the usual comeback, Cena goes for the AA but Del Rio tags in Cole, Cena hits him with the AA and tags in JR, who gets Cole in ankle lock for the win.
Overall the match was relatively poor and never really got going, also the once lively crowd seemed to fizzle to silence. After the match was over Cena gave the AA to Del Rio and began to attack him with the steel steps. When Del Rio was on the floor John counted to ten, which he then announced at Vengeance it will be John Cena Vs Alberto Del Rio competing for the WWE Championship in a last man standing match.
Raw goes off air.
Overall Raw did precisely what was expected and simply built up the storylines/heat for the forthcoming PPV this Sunday and I’m not saying that was a bad thing, but it didn’t exactly blow me away in the process.

0 comentarios:
Publicar un comentario